St Edmund’s, Southwold. Revisiting Rood Screens, Suffolk VI – An unexpected offshoot!

Ettaline-mouse-PeterSometimes I stick quite closely to my source inspiration as with the first two of my recent Edlyn series of silk scarves. Picking a panel and details from one of the panels of the St Edmund’s rood screen and working up a design.

Et1But sometimes I get diverted.

After I have drawn out some patterns and motifs a few times I start to wander off down my own road. I think it is a similar to when authors say that their characters somehow take on their own lives beyond the control of the writer. I feel this scarf is my version of my ‘visual’ characters marching off in their own direction especially regarding the colours.

This affair is probably better shown than described. As you can see from the photographs, the outline drawing still has a feel of the medieval panels about it, but it is loosening and the choice of colours has clearly moved away from the rood screen originals.

The creative process is not entirely describable, but here is the finished silk on the frame.

Ettaline-mouse-finishedAnd, finally after steaming, Ettaline Mouse.

Ettaline-mouse-close-up

ettaline-mouse-composite

 

 

Author: agnesashe

Artisan, blogger and passionate East Anglian working from home.

7 thoughts on “St Edmund’s, Southwold. Revisiting Rood Screens, Suffolk VI – An unexpected offshoot!”

  1. Oh I SO know what you are saying about the characters. In my current effort at rewriting this blessed manuscript, one of them is even criticising ME!
    I can only hope my final result is as beautiful as yours.
    And I hope you did well at the recent Christmas market.

    1. 😁 thought you might recognise that experience. It is very strange and I think people suspect your sanity when you try to explain it!! Perhaps deep down it is an alter ego’s voice getting past our conscious censor. 😉 Good luck with ‘that’ manuscript.
      Thought with all the Brexit stuff wouldn’t sell anything, but amazingly did better than last year.

Leave a comment