St Edmund’s, Southwold. Revisiting Rood Screens Suffolk V – Working from ‘David with harp’

Edlyn-slate-screenHere is another of my Edlyn series. Working with the same design, but this time choosing colours from another panel.

David with harp
Rood screen detail showing part of the panel ‘David with harp’ in front of the Lady Chapel of the south aisle. St Edmund’s Church, Southwold. Oil on panel with gesso and gilt original circa 1480, but heavily restored during the 19th century.

I rather liked the melancholy of the ‘David with harp’ panel and I thought the blues, the very pale grey, and the faded lilacs seen on the surrounding woodwork would make an interesting scarf.

Edlyn-slate4jpg

Adding more colour to imitate the golden feel of the original David panel.

Ed567

At this stage again as with the first of this series, the colours were all looking too clean and all more 21st century than 15th century. So I used my hard bristle brush again and swept lightly across the silk with a thickish greeny-grey resist over the blue.

Adding-black1

And, finally I added black dye to the background to give the overall design some depth.

Adding-black2

The piece was finished and ready for steaming.

Finished-ready-steaming

And here’s the scarf after a couple of hours in the steamer.

Edlyn-slate-composite

 

Author: agnesashe

Artisan, blogger and passionate East Anglian working from home.

9 thoughts on “St Edmund’s, Southwold. Revisiting Rood Screens Suffolk V – Working from ‘David with harp’”

    1. Thank you. You know I don’t think I could produce this series of scarves without constant referral to the fantastic originals. I am so impressed with those medieval artists such a shame they remain nameless.

    1. I’ve called this series of scarves ‘Edlyn’ and this particularly one is Edlyn Slate. Apparently, Edlyn is an Anglo-Saxon name meaning princess, but I’ve also read it might have meant noble waterfall which I rather like although it doesn’t fit with the rood screen source material.

Leave a comment